Home > Metal > Iced Earth’s “Dystopia” Album details revealed

Iced Earth’s “Dystopia” Album details revealed

Iced Earth’s new album, “Dystopia”  will be released in Europe on October 17 and in the U.S. on October 18 via Century Media Records. Two bonus tracks are also being recorded for the special edition of the album.

Guitarist/Songwriter Jon Schaffer said his interest in dystopian themes in music and movies led him to try his hand at that genre as well — even paying homage on the new album to the movies “Dark City”, “V For Vendetta”, and “Soylent Green”.

For the die-hard Iced Earth fans, there are two songs on “Dystopia” (the title track and “Tragedy and Triumph”) that feature the return of the “Something Wicked” storyline and Set Abominae,  who was last seen in their previous release, “The Crucible of Man”,  has taken his position as ruler of the world.

Schaffer also comments on working with new vocalist Stu Block (Into Eternity) saying it is “a pleasure.”

“You just can’t ask for a better attitude. Stu is so excited to be here. He brings a youthful exuberance to the band, which is a lot of fun. And he’s a real dude. He’s down to earth, and willing to try anything that Jim [Morris, co-producer, engineer] or I throw at him. He’s stepping into the shoes in a very natural way.We’re opening up a part of his voice and a style of singing that he didn’t even really know he had. We’re exploring this whole new range. And we’re just getting started. I believe Stu will continue to grow — and has the potential to grow — into one of the greats, one of the guys that will go down in metal history. If he stays on this course, with the attitude that he has, his willingness to learn, and his passion, he’s destined for really great things. I firmly believe that.”

Track Listing for “Dystopia”:

  1. * Dystopia
  2. * Anthem
  3. * Days of Rage
  4. * Soylent Green
  5. * V
  6. * Boiling Point
  7. * Anguish of Youth
  8. * Iron Will
  9. * Dark City
  10. * End of Innocence
  11. * Equilibrium
  12. * Tragedy and Triumph

ICED EARTH  will undertake the most extensive world tour in the bands history to support the album. The tour begins October 30 in Europe, staring in Bochum, Germany.


Categories: Metal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: