New Derek Sherinian solo album due in September!!

Former Dream Theater keyboardist Derek Sherinian (BLACK COUNTRY COMMUNION, BILLY IDOL, ALICE COOPER, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN) will release his seventh solo album, “Oceana”, on September 5 via Mascot Records. The CD was produced by Sherinian and Simon Phillips, and features the following special guests: Joe Bonamassa, Steve Lukather, Simon Phillips, Steve Stevens, Tony MacAlpine, Doug Aldrich, Tony Franklin and Jimmy Johnson.

Sherinian has made the following comments, “This record is heavily inspired by vintage Jeff Beck across the board in the composition and the first-class musicianship. Simon and I worked very hard on this record.”

The track listing is as follows:

01. Five Elements
02. Mercury 7
03. Mulholland
04. Euphoria
05. Ghost Runner
06. El Camino Diablo
07. I Heard That
08. Seven Sins
09. Oceana

Categories: Metal

Gene Hoglan to appear on New Testament Album

Legendary drummer Gene Hoglan will be recording the drums on the new Testament album entitled “Dark Roots Of The Earth”. Orignal drummer Paul Bostaph is unable to perform due to a serious injury but will rejoin the band for the subsequent tour. Gene Hoglan also played drums on Testament’s 1997 album, “Demonic”, and has played with DARK ANGEL, STRAPPING YOUNG LAD, DEATH, DETHKLOK, OPETH, and DEVIN TOWNSEND

Read the full story here:


Gene Hoglan in the Studio!!


Categories: Metal

Megadeth sets the new album title as ‘TH1RT3EN’

Megadeth frontman Dave Mustaine has announced details about the new Megadeth record, tentatively due in November through Roadrunner Records. Recently Rolling Stone caught up with Dave, there are some snippets from the interview below. It will be the first album in 10 years, to feature original bassist, David Ellefson.

RS: How did you find the time to record TH1RT3EN, since Megadeth has been on the road constantly?

DM: “We only had a little bit of time to do this, and realistically, expecting a band of our nature, stature, our songwriting process, [and] the availability of all the band members – to try to squeeze a record in two month’s timeframe, who were we kidding? But we did it. Man, we worked our butts off on that. I had some seriously long days. There were some days that I woke up at my computer, with an imprint on my face from sleeping on the keyboard.”

RS: Does the album title have a deeper meaning besides being the group’s 13th release?
DM: “I was born on September 13th; this is my thirteenth record. It just seemed like it was the right thing to do to call it TH1RT3EN.”

RS: What are some of the song titles?
DM: “There’s a title track, a couple of songs, there’s “Sudden Death” which was on the Guitar Hero game – that was extremely successful and garnered us another Grammy nomination. Then there was “Never Dead,” which came out for the Konami video game Never Dead. The record itself will probably be coming out around November 1st.”

RS: How was it recording with bassist Dave Ellefson again?
DM: “It’s not like it was anything new – Dave and I were close friends for almost 30 years. And although we didn’t play together for a span of time, that wasn’t my doing. If I had been able to prevent my arm from getting hurt [in 2002], everything probably wouldn’t have happened the way that it did. But I really believe that all of us have ended up better people than it was.”

Read the full interview here:

Categories: Metal

New Iced Earth Album Tracklisting Revealed!!

Hello there! Here is a recent studio update from Guitarist Jon Schaffer on the New Iced Earth Album, “Dystopia”, Check it out…

“All is well here as we are pushing forward with master tracking the new album, ‘Dystopia’. We have finished drums and rhythm guitars and are right on schedule. I’ll be heading to Europe tomorrow for a few festival dates and then right back to work in the studio on Monday. [Producer] Jim Morris and I are having a great time, as usual, and are very much looking forward to starting vocal tracks with ‘Stucifer’ next week! Stu Block has contributed a lot to the vocal parts on this record, with co-writing credits on 10 out of 12 songs, and I’m very happy with our chemistry and what we’ve accomplished together so far. And we’re just getting started.”

Songtitles set to appear on “Dystopia”:

* Dystopia
* Anthem
* Days of Rage
* Soylent Green
* V
* Boiling Point
* Tragedy and Triumph
* Anguish of Youth
* Iron Will

Categories: Metal

New Redemption Record has been finished

Hey all,

Nick Van Dyk of of progressive metal titans “Redemption” has just said the following on the bands facebook page:

“Nick here. Pleased to announce that the record is finished and the label has the masters. Now it’s just a matter of time until release dates are set. It was a lot of work — hope you folks like it!”


Check them out here!!

Categories: Prog Rock

Megadeth debut new song…

Hey Metal heads, Megadeth have debuted a new song, “Public Enemy No.1”, that will be on their new record due out in September!

Check it out!!!!!


Categories: Metal

Mike Mangini’s first drum solo with DT in Italy!!!

Check out Mike Manginis Drum solo and the song ytse jam below!! KICK ASS (Mike Portnoy…who?)


Categories: Prog Rock